Under Pressure

Crunchy and popping shoulders brought me from my slumber before sunrise. What disturbing and unnatural sounds! I’m surprised it doesn’t lead my dogs into a protective barking frenzy. I was able to go back to sleep and woke up again to terrible dog breath coming from either side. Ewwww! My husband was up already doing his normal morning routine. Why didn’t the dogs ask him to let them out? Grrrrr. Crunch-crunch-pop-pop-growl-growl as I pathetically and desperately called to my husband to let the cute and stinky beasts out. At least the nausea and the swelling/crimson red in my hands faded from where it was yesterday.

I wanted to do yoga today. However, after reviewing many of the poses, I don’t think I am there yet. I think even Child’s pose could send me into the fetal position. I then quickly convinced myself I was not going to exercise today. I’ll just take it easy. I then looked down at my achy and flabby body and decided no, I must do something. Atrophied muscles will not be my friend! But, I’m tired and achy and need to listen to that! The turmoil!

A couple hours later I forced myself up and into my Speedo. The pressure from my suit on my hips and shoulders almost sent me back to hibernation. No! I will gain my endurance back! I gently tossed my hair back into a haphazard ponytail, slipped on my flip-flops, and hesitantly headed out to the car. I put down the windows to feel the cool fall air, put on my starred Spotify tracks, and made my way to the gym.

The parking lot was empty! Rad! The locker room was the same. So quiet! I could already smell the chlorine as I tossed my dress into an empty locker and made my way down the slippery hall to the pool. The old man coffee club meeting was in full speed in the jacuzzi but, the creeper was not present. Whew! The pool was especially empty and I joyfully made my way in.

I survived another 20 (or so) minutes in the pool and I am wiped out! ZZZzzzZZZzzzzZzzzzz…
This will get easier. Right?

Leave a Reply

