Google Search Epidemic

My scalp really hurts on the crown of my head. Google search: ra and scalp pain. Find: tons of threads from folks with the same question and discussions.

My skin itches like crazy. Google search: ra and itchy skin. Find: tons of threads from folks with the same question and discussions. Realize how often Lupus and RA are confused.

Gosh my ears hurt! Google search: ra and ear pain. Find: tons of threads from folks with the same question and discussions. Baffled by talk of “ear joints.”

In April, I distinctively remember asking my husband if I should mention my terrible foot pain, as he drove me to the doctors when my thumbs locked up. Nah, how could that be related! Besides, my feet don’t always hurt and in fact didn’t at the time! I’m sure it’s those damn heels.

Because it would have been relevant to bring up my feet, it has made me over think everything and blame RA for everything. The funny thing is, I am obviously not alone as every time I google RA and anything I find a thread about it! It’s kind of absurd and comical.

It has taught me five things. First, RA is to blame for a lot but, not everything. Second, we don’t know enough about this crazy disease! Three, I can’t be concerned with ALWAYS knowing the cause of things. Four, sometimes it’s important to just take a note of it and let it go! Five, if it is RA what does it change?

Leave a Reply

